History of the Italian Serie A creation


Serie A remains one of the strongest club championships in the Old World.  It’s confirmed by the high popularity and number of views of soccer scores on football statistics websites. The first official games in Italy were established in 1898. The country’s football federation organized a one-day tournament on May 8. Similar tournaments were held for another 5 years, each of which was won by Genoa, with the exception of 1901, when Milan turned out to be the best team. Prior to Serie A, the championship was called Prima Categoria:

  •  The teams were divided into regions and played matches with each other. 
  • The best club in the area advanced to the playoffs and, along with other winners, fought the final battle for Italy’s champion title.

After the Prima Categoria, it was time for the Prima Divisione, a competition created as a result of opposition to federation policies from the largest clubs in the north of Italy (including Juventus, Pro Vercelli and Bologna). However, the league’s first season ran parallel to the last campaign of the previous season (1921/22), resulting in Italy having two football champions that year: 

  • Novese (winner of the Prima Category) and Pro.
  •  Vercelli (Prima Divisione Winner).

 A year later, Prima Divisione was already the official Italian league and was divided into two groups: Lega Nord (Northern League) and Lega Sud (Southern League). In total, 24 teams took part in the competition, whose soccer score were taken into account when selecting the winners for the final matches.

Serie A Forerunner

The first important step in the creation of the Serie A was the Carta di Viareggio document, published in 1926. According to it, one league was formed. It included 17 best teams in the Northern League and 3 best teams in the Southern League. Modern Serie A results are obliged to this document. However, the Carta di Viareggio rulebook forbade clubs to have more than two foreigners in a team, only one of which could play in a match. Two years later, a complete ban on the game for foreigners was introduced, and the employment of foreign coaches became impossible. The Italian league wanted the results to depend mainly on the players and coaches from their country. The league that emerged from the Carta di Viareggio was called Divisione Nacionale, Prima Divisional became the championship of the second division. Consisting of 32 clubs, the Divisione Nazional was again split into two in 1929, but this time it was the well-known Serie A and Serie B.

See also  All You Need to Know About the 2021 Kia Seltos

You can see the current  Series A result on a special football statistics website, which contains all the data on matches, goals, red cards and other parameters useful for predicting the results of games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *