Everything You Need To Know About The Caulfield Cup


One of the most prestigious Group 1 events on the racing calendar each year, the Caulfield Cup takes place during the three-day Caulfield racing carnival. The event is held each year in mid-October and is a premier open handicap race using ballots to determine the final field. Newminster won the inaugural Caulfield Cup in 1879, and since then the race has grown to become one of the richest handicaps over 2400 meters.

Caulfield Cup Winner 2022

A second victory for trainer Chris Waller in the 145th Caulfield Cup results came thanks to the first emergency Durston ($18) who gained a run and ran down the top-weight Gold Trip. When looking at Caulfield Cup tips, it is always a good idea to consider horses that have performed well in the race throughout previous editions.

Caulfield Cup History 

This race, which offers over $3 million in prize money, attracts some of the best middle distance/ staying types in Australia and is a logical progression for horses seeking a berth in the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m), which is held 17 days later.

As of recent years, the Caulfield Cup has taken on an international flair with some of the world’s top staying types taking part in the race as a lead-up to the famous Melbourne Cup. It was the Japanese stayer Admire Rakti who won the race in 2014, carrying 58kg and earning a roaring burst ahead of Rising Romance and Lucia Valentina. Race favorite Mongolian Khan, a New Zealand-trained stayer, beat Trip To Paris by half a length the following year.

See also  Running Techniques for Beginners

Poseidon (1906), The Trump (1937), Rivette (1939), Rising Fast (1954), Even Stevens (1962), Galilee (1966), Gurners Lane (1982), Let’s Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might And Power (1997), and Ethereal (2001) have been the first horses to win the Melbourne Cup after contesting the Caulfield Cup (called the Cups Double). 

Caulfield Cup Day also includes the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint (1000 meters), the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes (1400 meters), the Group 3 Caulfield Classic (2000 meters), the Group 3 David Jones Cup (2000 meters), the Group 3 Ethereal Stakes (2000 meters), and the Group 3 Moonga Stakes (1400 meters). 

The Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington Racecourse two weeks earlier is the most reliable lead up race to the Caulfield Cup, with eight of the past 17 winners coming through the Turnbull. Another successful lead-up race in recent times has been the Group 1 Metropolitan (2400m) held at Royal Randwick two weeks before as well as the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m) held a week earlier; Mongolian Khan used these races in 2015.

Paris (1892 & 1894), Poseidon (1906-07), Eurythmic (1920), Amounis (1930), Tranquil Star (1942), Rising Fast (1954-55), Tulloch (1957), Galilee (1966), Tobin Bronze (1967), Big Philou (1969), Leilani (1974), Ming Dynasty (1977 & 1980), Gurners Lane (1982), Let’s Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might And Power (1997), Ethereal (2001), Northerly (2002), Mummify (2003), Elvstroem (2004), Viewed (2009), Dunaden (2012), Fawkner (2013), Admire Rakti (2014), Mongolian Khan (2015), Jameka (2016) and Boom Time (2017), are among the long and illustrious honor rolls. 

Final Thoughts

As mentioned above, the Caulfield Cup is one of the most prestigious events and there is much more to know about it, but in this short article we have managed to cover some of the most important things you need to know about Caulfield cup, although it’s hard to include all the information related to Caulfield cup in this brief article. Please let us know if you think we have overlooked some of the important things about the Caulfield Cup that we should have included in our article. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *